Come to Italy and meet Mickey Rat and Donald Goose

This entertaining, a must to follow,

The Dangerously Truthful Diary of a Sicilian Housewife

One day, when I went to collect my son from school, a rat eight inches long was spotted sprinting across the playground. Being Sicilian, the mothers knew how to do “hysterical” with great virtuosity. Yet they were calling the rat a “mouse.”

Let’s weigh this up. Mice are fairly harmless compared with rats. People even have them as pets. Mickey Mouse is a mouse, after all.

Rats, on the other hand, spread the plague. Is it really possible Italians think they are the same?

Recently a friend of mine informed me her husband had just bought two ducks. When I arrived at her house and descended from her car, there were the two biggest, most monstrously overgrown two-foot-high geese I’ve ever seen, hell bent on eating my calves. She calls them ducks or geese interchangeably, you see.

Italians are similary confused about mules, horses and donkeys.

I remember when I was…

View original post 276 more words

Leave a Reply

