Bambi figurines

I have a number of these, acquired them when I was child then I got some more going around car boots quite some time ago. They are so pretty

re:retro

vintage bambi figurinesBambi figurines
made in Australia and Japan, c.1950s

Ok, we’re back into kitsch territory. I fully acknowledge that the reason I love bambis SO much is that I wasn’t allowed to have one when I was little – they were considered by my parents to be ‘common’ [by which they meant kitsch.] Little wonder that I grew to so thoroughly embrace all things kitsch!

I have purposely collected 1950 era bambis that were made here in Australia or in Japan – these are NOT Disney figurines, which I think look more ‘commercial’. All the bambis are in repose, except for the back one that is part of a set of two, who is frolicking over a tree stump. The darker brown bambi in the front is souvenir ware, hailing from the South Coast in Narooma [as evidenced by the painted script on its side.]

For sale: $AUD145

View original post

Leave a Reply

