Going Back in Time

A while back I was asked to help at a vintage charity sale / auction for the church, at the time I had just moved into the area and was happy to help it gave me a chance to meet more people, so that was all good stuff. I have to admit that I thought this “vintage” sale was going to be a bit of a bric a brac  do. Nevertheless, we were all there to help raise money for charity and we’de all work as a team.

The preperation days arrived and  I was so surprised when I got there, this was no ordinary raise money for the church thing, this had been done before very successfully. So I soon very enthusiastically got into the swing of things. I was amazed at the authenticity of the clothes, accessories, jewellery etc. Items just went on and on. We all know people can give generously to charity especially local community charities’ but this was amazing. I just could’nt get over the quality of the clothes donated. There were genuine haute couture from the 30’s 40′ and 50’s Maybe more I could have missed them. I was in my element,continued to really get stuck into things.

A couple of the most gorgeous wedding dresses from the 20’s and 30’s. What a luxury real silk from top to toe in the plainest of designs well the sort flapper style and it was a tiny size almost doll like, they were skinny even in those days. The other one was I think a 30’s style

Apparently we had over a thousand people through the door and a lot of those people were students from the Art and Design College. and they were snapping up clothes, they were almost fighting for some things.

These students loved this vintage look you could tell as what they were generally wearing was very much “the old look” and they looked great.

My only buy was a 50’s broach and a couple of  metres of lace, but I was happy.

Oh yes £9.000 was raised for charity which was fabulous but what a great couple of days.

Leave a Reply

